Other watersheds in the Delaware Bay and Estuary
Appoquinimink River || Army Creek || Blackbird Creek || Broadkill River || C and D Canal East || Cedar Creek || Delaware Bay Drainage || Delaware River Drainage || Dragon Run Creek || Leipsic River || Little Creek || Mispillion River || Murderkill River || Red Lion Creek || Smyrna River || St. Jones River
Smyrna River
The Smyrna River watershed is located in the northeastern corner of Kent County. Its major water course is the Smyrna River which forms part of Kent County's northern boundary and New Castle County's southern boundary. The Smyrna River generally flows in a northeasterly direction. The lower ten miles are tidal.

Land use is mostly agricultural. There are two incorporated areas in the watershed, Smyrna and Clayton.

DNREC's Wetland Monitoring and Assessment Program (WMAP) has been developing scientifically robust methods to monitor and evaluate wetlands in Delaware on a watershed basis. Learn more about the health of the wetlands in this watershed from the DNREC Wetlands Monitoring and Assessment Program.
Water Quality  
Plants and Wildlife  
Further Resources  

View of wood ducks swimming
Photo credit: Stacey Steinberg